Why Him? | Movie Review

why-him-image

Why Him? is a 111 minutes comedy directed by John Hamburg, mostly known for I Love You, Man (2009). It is starring  Zoey Deutch, James Franco, Cedric the Entertainer, Kegan-Michael Key, Bryan Cranston and Megan Mullally. A synopsis reads: “A holiday gathering threatens to go off the rails when Ned Fleming realizes that his daughter’s Silicon Valley billionaire boyfriend is about to pop the question”.

Watching Why Him? I was pleasantly surprised. When entering the cinema screen I din’t think I will laugh a lot, but it happened. I must say this is a goofy movie and I would advise you not to put too much thought going in. What I would say to you is to just enjoy the show. James Franco is brilliant, he  brings his A-game here, and is once again totally hysterical. Bryan Cranston has a surprising comedic timing. Megan Mullally is a scene stealer. Kegan-Michael Key is bonkers. They all contribute to making this film enjoyable for us as spectators.

What I liked about this film is also the fact that it’s got Kaley Cuoco (one of my favourite actresses) as an awesome version of Siri,  apparently the best of Silicon Valley. Oh, and a half of the band KISS in full costume and makeup. Without saying too much I think the end of this film will warm your heart. Another thing that is worth mentioning is that the movie contains a lot of swearing and adult scenes, so I don’t recommend it to the kids.

If I were to give a rating to this film it would be a 6.5 out of 10. It’s not extraordinary, but definitely worth a watch, especially if you are a James Franco fan. Why Him? is in cinemas everywhere !

#Rawmanian.Loves.WhyHim?

Leave a Reply

